SERIES “LAW AND CONSTITUTION IN AFRICA”

Contents

During the more recent past much has happened on the African continent regarding democratic reform, good governance, human rights protection and the rule of law. On the way to more societal, political and legal stability various countries in Africa are still entangled in processes of legal and institutional reform, especially in the areas of constitutional law, the law relating to the organisation of the state, electoral law, laws regulating political parties, criminal law, criminal procedure, civil law, civil procedure, administrative law and administrative procedure. In order to also accommodate other African countries, the legal series “Law and Constitution in South Africa”, which is in existence since 1998, has been geographically expanded. “Law and Constitution in Africa” offers a platform enhancing the comparative law discourse between Africa and Europe. This not only promotes good international relations but shall also contribute to more mutual understanding and intellectual exchange between law faculties on both continents. It is expected to foster and propel on-going and future legal and judicial reform processes. The first edition of “Law and Constitution in Africa” is published in 2013; the series focus lies on high quality postgraduate, doctoral, postdoctoral dissertations and other scientific work in English and German language relevant to the areas of public, private and economic law.

 

EDITORIAL BOARD

 

Ulrich Karpen, Professor of Law, University of Hamburg ulrich.karpen@jura.uni-hamburg.de

Hans-Peter Schneider, Professor of Law, University of Hannover hps@dif.uni-hannover.de

Oliver C. Ruppel, Professor of Law, University of Stellenbosch ruppel@sun.ac.za

Hartmut Hamann, Professor of Law, Freie University Berlin & Hamann Rechtsanwaelte, Stuttgart hamann@hamann-legal.de

 

SCIENTIFIC ADVISORY COUNCIL

 

Laurie Ackermann, Justice (Emeritus), Constitutional Court of South Africa, Johannesburg.  lwhack@iafrica.com

Jean-Marie Breton, Professor of Law (Emeritus), Honorary Dean, University of French West Indies and Guyana j.m.breton@wanadoo.fr

Gerhard Erasmus, Professor of Law (Emeritus), Associate, Trade Law Centre, Stellenbosch Gerhard@tralac.org

Norbert Kersting, Professor of Political Sciences, University of Muenster norbert.kersting@uni-muenster.de

Hans Hugo Klein, RiBVerfG a.D., Professor of Law, University of Goettingen hh.klein@jura.uni-goettingen.de

Salvatore Mancuso, Professor of Law, Chair Centre for Comparative Law in Africa, University of   Cape Town salvatore.mancuso@uct.ac.za

Yvonne Mokgoro, Justice, South African Law Reform and Development Commission, Pretoria YvonneMokgoro@justice.gov.za

Lourens du Plessis, Professor of Law, Northwest University, Potchefstroom Lourens.duplessis@nwu.ac.za

Werner Scholtz, Professor of Law, University of the Western Cape, Bellville wscholtz@uwc.ac.za

Nico Steytler, Professor of Law, Int. Association of Centers for Federal Studies, Bellville nsteytler@uwc.ac.za

Hennie A. Strydom, Professor of Law, University of Johannesburg hstrydom@uj.ac.za

Christoph Vedder, Professor of Law, University of Augsburg christoph.vedder@jura.uni-augsburg.de

Gerhard Werle, Professor of Law, Humboldt University Berlin Gerhard.Werle@rewi.hu-berlin.de

Johann van der Westhuizen, Justice, Constitutional Court of South Africa, Johannesburg vdwesthuizen@concourt.org.za

Reinhard Zimmermann, Professor of Law, Managing Director of the Max Planck Institute for Comparative and International Private Law, Hamburg r.zimmermann@mpipriv.de

 

Publisher:

NOMOS Law Publishers, Germany

http://www.nomos-shop.de/reihenpopup.aspx?reihe=225

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *