People at DROP

SU DROP LOGO_official

Prof. Dr. Oliver C. Ruppel is the Director of DROP. He is a full Professor at the Faculty of Law of the University of Stellenbosch, a Professor Extraordinaire at several universities around the world and a Fellow of the Ciucci Centre for Law and Social Development, an initiative of the Stonehage Charitable Trust. Until 2010 he held one of the worldwide 14 academic chairs of the World Trade Organisation (WTO), Geneva, Switzerland, which he established at the University of Namibia, Windhoek, where he had previously also served as the Director of the national Human Rights and Documentation Centre. He served as Coordinating Lead Author for the Chapter on Africa in the United Nations Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), Working Group II. He is an international arbitrator with the Association of Arbitrators of Southern Africa, member of the International Conservations Union (IUCN) Law Academy, Ottawa, Canada, member of the African Law Association, Düsseldorf, Germany, member of the Commission for Legal Pluralism, Zurich, Switzerland, member of the South African and Swiss Branches of the International Law Association, and member of various editorial boards, including the NIALS Journal of Environmental Law, Lagos, Nigeria, the Legal Series on Legal Perspectives on Global Challenges, The Hague, Netherlands and the legal series Law and Constitution in Africa, Nomos Publishers, Germany.

Marianca Louw is a LLD candidate researching the governance of water resources and interrelating issues between climate change and human security, which includes water stress, water availability and water pollution. In doing so she engages on the interaction between water law, climate change regulation, and human rights and how the responsible use of water can create a more secure and prosperous future for the people in South Africa and on the African continent, while still pursuing sustainable (economic) development.

Charlotte Poulussen was a DROP Project Assistant and LLM candidate at Stellenbosch University in 2016.

Lena Plato was a Biofuels Project Assistant at DROP in 2015 and a LLM candidate.

Johann Krige was a Biofuels Project Assistant at DROP in 2015 and a LLM candidate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *